Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alvin tutors in Vancouver, Canada

Alvin S.

Private tutor in Vancouver, Canada

Education

-Currently studying Masters of Education at University of British Columbia -American Sign Language Courses at VCC -Special Education Certificate from Queen's University -Bachelor of Education and specialty in teaching from University of British Columbia - Intermediate and Advance French Certificate from Laval University -Bachelor of Arts from Simon Fraser University

Experience

I have a passion of forming a therapeutic rapport with my students and helping them maximize their learning. As an educator, I have worked in the private and public schools systems, international and local institutions. Aside from Vancouver, I have taught in Mainland China, Egypt and Quebec. My personal goal is to reach my potential and I try to influence my students to do the same. Although I must admit, despite a valiant effort, I am nowhere close to winning any cooking awards. I continue to upgrade my education to see how I can engage my students better. Some of the students I work with are gifted, have complex behavior, and learning disability. I am comfortable teaching all age groups. For example, my current students range from K to 12. Some of my students have made it to the regional and provincial heritage fairs. For college and university students, I can help with essay writing and English. For younger students, I specialize in helping English Language Learners (ELL) and help them accelerate into an regular English program.

Availability

Weekdays after 3PM, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love learning languages. I speak Mandarin, Cantonese, English and French. I have taken language courses for Spanish, American Sign Language and Arabic. In May, I will be taking Punjabi. Every year, I try to pick a few volunteer activities to mentor my students in. Recently, I have been coaching basketball and ultimate frisbee. In the past, I have acted as an athletic director, organized camping trips, heritage fairs, volleyball teams, track and field, and drama clubs. For my personal leisure, I try to do judo, ultimate frisbee and weight lifting on a weekly basis. I have also taken tabla, oud, and clarinet lessons.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!